... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Run Coot Run!

Gawd, the coots were being mental this morning... ("For a change").
They wouldn't stop chasing each other around Mount Pond; it is a shame that it wasn't brighter, because I had many opportunities to catch them running/flying across the water. See the splashes better in large ("L").

The big plume of water in the background is coming out of one of the fountain islands in the pond which are used for aerating the water (I believe). I've always wondered what happened when they turned on (as there are often birds perching on them, as in the link above), and today I found out: there was a coot piling sticks on the island (building a nest), and the water turned on which made it do quite persistent shrieking... It must have happened to it many times before as I've often seen it trying to nest on the island. Poor, silly coot...

Still no goslings: I visited Eagle Pond first, but found only Mr. Goosle by himself on the water's edge. He was looking very handsome, so I went and had a little chat (I'm hoping that it'll make him calmer when I'm around, but who knows... He's certainly calmer than he used to be.)

Eep, I'm off for an MRI this evening (they assigned me 7:30PM which seems odd): I'm very nervous about the experience (I'm not worried about the results as it is just to confirm an already confident diagnosis, so oughtn't to be very dramatic in that regard), but I'm also somewhat curious to see the machine &c. for myself.

p.s. I just received an (exciting!) email saying that yesterday's heron hit the spotlight; thank you very much for all of your comments, stars, and hearts. I very much appreciate all of your feedback :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.