Closing down

My former neighbour is closing down. Last autumn he met a woman and they have now decided to share a house together, her house, at the mainland coast. He's always been interested in farming and when he moved here, he got himself some hens and sheep. He can expand now, since his loved one own a small farm. I never got to know him, we only met a few times since I moved here in January and now he's moving with his four sheep, the hens moved to the inside of a fox a year ago. Today he was tearing down the fence for his sheep and starts a new life and family. My view has certainly opened up since January.

In the evening a friend of mine gave a concert in town in a small gallery where I've played too, last autumn. A lovely, intimate concert, my friend playing the piano and a young woman singing well known songs from the Swedish tradition, all in the cause of spring and for gathering money helping the people of  Ukraine. 

I'd heard there was an organ festival in town over the weekend too, I went there after the first concert just to have a listen and came in the middle of a jazz concert with saxophone and organ. They were playing music by Duke Ellington and other composers, they played very well and I stayed for a few songs. The extra is from the cathedral when the saxophone player was on his way to the organ loft, playing some blues phrases as he was walking through the audience, accompanied by the organ from above. Very effective. I thought I'd had enough after the first concert so I didn't stay long but I love the variety of performances you can get in a small city like Kalmar, my place in life at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.