Not Quite Two of a Kind

Having a problem with one of our kitchen taps, I purchased two new gland assemblies for the taps. One was for the hot and one was for the cold, in case a similar problem occurred. What I did not know was that the manufacturer had slightly changed the design, so that the splined end which fitted into the tap handle was now only two-thirds of the length of the previous one. The new items would fit, but the tap handle was no longer secure, so that it could be easily broken. There were only two options, replace the taps with new ones, which would involve removing the entire sink unit or rebuild the old glands in my workshop, by manufacturing my own parts, to as near the original specification as I could; this was done and worked satisfactorily. Above is a picture of the two glands, the new one on the right and the refurbished unit on the left; this occupied most of the day!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.