CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Robyn Hitchcock playing at Gloucester Guildhall

When I saw Nick Lowe play in Stroud recently I bumped into Morris Windsor who told me he'd be playing with Robyn Hitchcock at Gloucester Guildhall in a few weeks time. I wasn't sure I could go but in the end I managed to get a ticket.

Morris can be seen here playing percussion in the ensemble that gathered for the encore. He has been playing with Robyn off and on for many decades starting out in Robyn's first band The Soft Boys, when they were both at Cambridge in the early 1970s. I think I first met Robyn in 1973 through his cousin Dave and the tendrils have been entangled ever since. The story was recounted some years ago in this blip.

I couldn't stay long after the gig so didn't manage to chat to Robyn, but I did meet some of his friends and family which I enjoyed, as well as Morris' daughter Tara. Morris also lives in the Stroud area but Tara now works in London.

His support act was Jessica Lee Morgan who played with her partner, seen here on bass. Robyn brought them all on for a few encores which had louder and more dynamic presence than when he played solo with just an acoustic guitar. Half way through the gig Morris joined him to add percussion and vocal support.

I had to merge two images to produce this picture as I was using my 100-400mm lens. I think it works ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.