Windmill 'De Adriaan', Haarlem

Now at least I know there's a windmill with the same name as AW.  Gosh... he has a 'Wall' and now a 'Windmill'... :D))

The objective today was to visit Haarlem because of its windmills (I think Haarlem has 6), but the idea was more to get a 'feel' of its streets and the general atmosphere, whatever that might be, as it's the setting of my little novel.  I am using real streets, and I wanted to check if some of my details are technically and geographically correct..  Last time I was here, AW didn't come along, and he didn't come along today, either, because of his throat (which is thankfully doing much better than yesterday, but not well enough yet).  Adriaan was facing away from the sun, but I didn't mind.  This is not the last time I'll be visiting anyway.  It looked like the whole town was at the city centre.  It was busy, but not crowded.  One thing I learned was that the streets can turn out to be a lot longer than they appear on Google maps in some parts of the city, and feel much shorter in other parts.

The weather was so lovely.  All kinds of boats were on the river Spaarne, people were simply enjoying the water.  Beside the Adriaan was a -- you guessed it! -- cozy restaurant, where I again enjoyed two glass of fresh orange juice, a plate of deep-fried balls of risotto and a slice of thin cheesecake with berry glace and whipped cream.  When I was done, I knew I wasn't going to need dinner.

Left at around 10.30, but not before hanging a hand-washed bedsheet outside.  Sure enough, by the time I got back, which was around 21.00, it was dry enough to be used.  I'm actually proud of the fact that I can still hand-wash sheets.  That said, that new washing machine can't come too soon.  In the meantime, Mathieu van der Poel is still the leader at the Giro d'Italia and Red Bull's Max Verstappen won in Florida and is catching up with Ferrari's Leclerc.  I hope this good weather will go on for a while (it's allowed to rain at night).  We need all the positivity we can get.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.