Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

A Bit Of A Domestic!

A snatch of sapphire is all that is needed to identify the kingfisher!

A bit of a 'domestic' here and you really shouldn't get involved but... ! I don't know what the problem was but she had been working her socks off (if she had them) and he was just sitting perching. 'On your bike!' comes to mind!

In all fairness he was just having a breather, poor lad! It takes a massive effort digging out a bank, getting rid of the soil, oh and, all the little home improvements that we girls would like! They were taking it in turns having said that :) ...The set up, seemed from where I was perching, was that 1 would go in , dig out and I'm saying that because the earth was coming out of the hole, then swapsies to rest on the branch outside. You can't even imagine in the howling gale how cold my hands were and how difficult it was to get the speed. Even the camera on the tripod was wobbling! At quite a distance possibly 45m I'm not unhappy!

Hopefully this nest will bring forth tiny little kingfishers but who knows? I remember well last years BBC Springwatch when the nest was flooded by the rising river with the nest cam inside. Let's hope not!!

Got to add I was smiling with this! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.