An eclectic mix

We have been asked to bring five objects which can be categorised as old, broken or obsolete to the drawing class tomorrow. This is my selection:

 A camera (old, broken and obsolete)
 An antler ( not  that old, broken and obsolete (at least to the stag) *
 A key (certainly old, not broken and possibly not obsolete)
 A washer (old, broken and obsolete)
 A tape (old but neither broken nor obsolete). 

The washer is from the kitchen tap which had been dripping and which T (thankfully) fixed last night.

The tape is a recording of an album which I made nearly 30 years ago. The album is The Gift by The McCarters - a country album from three sisters with big hair which came out in 1988.  I have since downloaded it and listen to it from time to time - it never fails to bring back memories of the early 90s. 

Today was spent mainly indoors - the rain put paid to my plans to prepare my veg patch, although I did while away an hour or so this morning in my potting shed. 


* Thanks to today's lesson in Duolingo I learnt that "cabar-feidh " is the Gaelic for antler. The literal translation is deer stick. In a similar vein we also  have:
     cearc-fhraoich (heather chicken)  for grouse
     brog na cuthaige (cuckoo's shoe) for bluebell 

A key 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.