Surprise!!

I had no inkling that my daughter had organised everybody to be with me to celebrate my 70th. I thought I was going down to the village hall to volunteer and when I walked in I could hardly believe my eyes. They were all just stood there! Charlotte had liaised with my friends to decorate the hall the previous afternoon while they all travelled up, staying in various locations overnight. My friends had all known weeks before and not one of them had given me any clue or reason to suspect something was going on. They all stayed overnight with us having brought all their own camp beds and bedding. I went into a slight panic when I realised I had hardly any food indoors as I'm going down to spend time with them all this coming week. Charlotte had sorted all that too, arranging a wonderful roast with all the trimmings to be delivered that evening from our local lady. We spent time in the afternoon down at the river for the children, and adults of course, to enjoy mucking about in the water! It was chaos indoors with eight adults and five children but we had so much fun. Reg thought all his birthdays had come at once as he loves company. They had all departed before midday on Sunday as they had long journeys ahead of them. I've added a few extra photos of which there were many many taken! I'm not sure they will fully appreciate what that day meant to me and how loved I felt but a good time was certainly had by all. A day never to be forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.