'Wuthering Heights'

"Would you like to go and see 'Wuthering Heights' at The Lowry on Thursday?"

For a moment, I wondered whether this was a trick question; after nine and a half years, the Minx is only too familiar with the fact that I don't enjoy the theatre.

But then I thought that perhaps I should dust off our old "Just say yes" policy, and simply replied "Sure!".

Which, having hit 'send' I thought was probably a mistake. My English class read 'Wuthering Heights' at school, and, forty years later, I can still remember how bleak and dull I found it. Surely this could not be the trigger for a new-found enjoyment of the theatre?

Anyway, once I'd enjoyed a couple of after work pints with Simon, the Minx and I took the tram across to Salford Quays, where we met up with Hannah, grabbed a glass of wine, and took our seats for the performance.

Well, I absolutely loved it! Pretty much from the start, I was swept along by the energy of the show, which was lively, colourful, and fun. I had been dreading the fact that the performance was two and a half hours long, but there was never a dull moment.

The story was well told and, perhaps with some sympathy for audience members such as myself, Emma Rice, who adapted the novel and directed the show, did a terrific job of helping one keep track of all the characters and their relationships.

Honestly, I really did not expect to write this post and be saying that it was a fantastic experience!

And afterwards, there was a QnA with some of the cast, which was funny and informative. All in all, it was a great night out. Wow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.