Garden

Those nails they just keep on coming. This little lot emerged from a patch 2m by 1.8m that I was preparing for lettuce seedlings which has already been dug up and de-nailed at least six times since I arrived here two years ago.

I'm also digging up the plants that will be built on (one of these days) and am offering them on Freegle. Fifteen claimants so far, the most interesting of whom was an ethnobotanist who I invited into the garden to choose whatever he wanted. He's researching people's responses to vertical gardens. Who'd've thought! There is no end of things to find out.

Someone organising a plant sale in support of refugees asked for plants so she'll collect most of them tomorrow, then one of the takers today arrived with a Ukrainian refugee who is staying with him. She knew about none of the refugee services available in Oxford so I was pleased that I happened to have some leaflets left over from the last fundraising I did. I did as much of a safeguarding check as I could in the 12 minutes they were with me and had no worries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.