Arachne

By Arachne

Garden again

I erected the mosquito net this afternoon, having learnt several lessons from last year (and forgotten a few). Definitely an improvement on 2019 and 2020 though.

I had to mend a few holes, which reminded me about fisherfolk always repairing their nets immediately after work rather than leaving it until the nets are needed. I'll try and remember this one in September.

I left the strawberries, hugely multiplied this year, outside the net and I'll think about the war with birds later. It's interesting looking back to see last year's healthy parsley crop. I have just a few spindly stalks on the kitchen windowsill this year.

I hope we get the promised rain tomorrow, then I can plant my baby lettuces out into wet earth on Thursday. Then be ready to pick off the slugs and snails on Thursday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.