Energy

Pleasure, ease, contentment: a bore.
Where’s the rub? The snafu? The glorious glitch?
Tiff. Tizzy. Tumult. To-do. Remember:
No itch, no fuss: no pearls to string.

Feud, fit, flap, flurry.
Hoopla. Imbroglio. Rhubarb. Pickle.
What good’s a shampoo without lather?
Soup unstirred? Wedding without a row?

I want spasm, spat, squabble, stink.
Brouhaha. Boondoggle. Conniption. Clash.
Calm’s as good as dead: a plum-pit.
Give me ruckus, rowdydow, ruffle, snit.


Turbidophilia, by Peter Pereira


This artist came into my room today for a "read/write/draw" break and spent some time with markers at the whiteboard easel. When I asked if I could take a picture he told me to hold on a minute, and carefully added some finishing touches. Then he signed it and stepped back, telling me it was called "Energy."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.