madowoi

By madowoi

Western Mtn. Across the Marsh

This is one of the scenes I could basically photograph every day, but for some reason have wanted to avoid until the time was "just right." Of course, tonight there was nothing particularly special about the timing, but what of it? I guess there's no reason I can't shoot the same scene again if I feel like it. So I walked down to the end of the driveway to stretch my legs, waited until there were no cars coming, then walked a bit down the road to get a better angle.

There really is no good place to pause and soak in this view without being in the road, but people do it all the time. In the summer groups of people on photo tours sometimes crowd around during sunset. During the day it's more likely to be plein air painting classes. A very simple search on Google will turn up tons of images of this scene, mostly from the same vantage spot. Some of them are spectacular.

Sometimes, to be honest, it can be a bit annoying. Mostly when people park blocking the driveway, which I sorta get, 'cause there isn't much room to pull over, but really, how often do you park blocking the entrance to someone's driveway? And then there are the people who feel compelled to drive down the driveway out of curiosity and then turn around in front of the house. That's why I like to sit on the porch in my rocking chair with overalls on and a shotgun across my lap. Just kidding. Who needs a shotgun when you've got a million mosquitos?

I shouldn't complain. It's nice to live here, and I make the effort not to take it for granted. Tonight there was nobody out there, just me and the frogs. A few ducks flew up out of the water, passed overhead, and went off to another part of the marsh. Only a few cars drove by while I snapped some photos before wandering back to the house. The woodcock was out in the field making his silly noise, and the snowshoe hare was sitting by the back steps watching me warily. All in all a quiet evening at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.