Woman Walking

By njoyce06

Aloee Close-up

I noticed today that the owners of these magnificent Aloe were outside.  So I introduced myself and asked permission to walk in their yard and get some clues ups the blooming aloe.     They were very willing to let me take some pictures.
Some of the interesting characteristics of this plant is the bunch of flowers grows up on a thick stem,  which is very stiff.   When in full bloom, the bottom of the flowers opens like a trumpet,  When you look very closely at the trumpet, there is a very tiny stamen, for pollination.  I saw no insects any where's on the plant so I assume it pollenates by the wind.
      Today was a beautiful day, 82 degrees, 4 mph wind, blue skies and billowy clouds.    After 3 days of riding, 15 miles (each day) I am  muscle weary (45 miles in total).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.