Myceliumme

By Myceliumme

Aliens!

Again, it's hard to think of anything really good that I did today. I was at my desk at about 9:30 for an interview for one of my academic projects. After that, I spent most of the day extracting data from an interview transcript from February (gulp). I also corrected the Teams auto-transcription. This may not have been strictly necessary but I think it helped me 'get close to the data'.

I was so engrossed in this that I didn't realise I was late for an online community meeting that I was to minute until 13 minutes after it started. Fortunately someone else took notes during the beginning - and there may be a Zoom recording of the whole meeting. (The host can't find it, so I may need to get into her Mac via TeamViewer to find it.)

After that, I spent another hour on interview data-extraction and autotranscription-correction, until my wife phoned me. (She's visiting friends on the other side of the country.) I then had my dinner (some vegan Bolognese my wife had left) and watched the beginning of the special edition of Aliens. Hence the photo. (NB this is a replacement, showing the switched-off TV. The original was a photo of the TV playing Aliens, which broke Blipfoto's rules. Thanks to the moderators for returning the original text of this post.)  

I love this film - it's so gripping and well made but there is a mistake that annoys me. When the salvage crew discover Ripley is alive in the shuttle, they take off their masks. And yet they have done nothing to prove that there are no noxious life-forms on the shuttle. Indeed, the fact that Ripley is alive is surely an indication that other - potentially nasty - things could be present. I know the shuttle was scanned by the blue-light gizmo, which might have been an anti-infestation device. But if it was, why would the salvage crew have needed to come on board wearing masks?

It's almost as annoying as those who think Covid is over! Grrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.