Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The Red Trail

Otherwise known as the River Trail in  Lake Conestee Park in Greenville.    I have visited this park several times but have never walked the red trail.  After crossing two bridges, one over a portion of the lake  and one over the river (a large creek at this area) I turned right to follow the red blazes. The large leafy things in the water I later found out were yellow water lily plants but no flowers were blooming.  One looked like a bird ready to take flight!    I might have to go back as they probably will bloom as it warms up more.   The path was through a very green hardwood forest with honeysuckle, mountain laurel and privet which made for some wonderful trail perfume.    At a short path to the river bank I was trying to photograph reflections when out of the corner of my eye I spotted some geese and their babies trying to get away from me.   Not the best photo as they were in and out of hiding among the shore plants.   The trail led through a bamboo grove which is the first time I remember a bamboo forest occurring in my many walks at parks here.   At the last overlook I spotted two turtles sunning.    I could have walked here all day long as there are so many trails.  I talked with some other walkers (people are so friendly if you just start a conversation!)   They told me about several heron nest on the opposite side of the park but I did not have time to walk that far as I had a lunch date with my cousin who I had seen only once in two years of Covid precautions.  

We made up for the lack of time by a really long lunch!  

I actually took these  photos yesterday but I wanted to have them in my journal.    

I found the heart on the tree as I was heading back to the car.   Always a good thing to look behind you or walk back the same way you came.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.