Grey Heron

There was no sign of the young one when I arrived at the loch this morning. I walked halfway round and saw a male (not sure if it was the male from the nest or not). I gave it a few bits of fish which it readily ate.  The crow appeared so it got a bit as well. I then made my way back (I kept the bulk of the fish as I was sure that the young one would appear). I had not gone far when I heard frantic heron calls. I turned round and the young one was heading to me. I gave her the rest of the fish (apart for one piece which I gave to the crow who had followed me back.
This afternoon the young one flew over to the edge of the loch and I started feeding her. The crow was back for it's piece. The male heron landed and got an earful from the young one but did not go away. I tried to feed them both but if I did not get it close enough to the male the young one ran over and grabbed it. The crow ignored a dog biscuit I gave it - it was after fish! Just as I was finishing a school party approached and the young one and the male took off. The crow quickly broke the biscuit, picked up the bits and flew off as well. I also made my way home. There was no sign of the new heron although they could be fishing in the middle of the woods. There were  quite a few heron around today. This tends to happen when the goslings arrive.
The extra is the male.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.