Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

White feather

This feather floated down yesterday morning but I didn't see it land.  When I opened my eyes after the afternoon meditation it was catching the sunlight, so I rescued it.  Lots of meanings to this and the feather in the opening and closing scenes of Forrest Gump which was Mum's favourite film.

Dad phoned this evening.  He's such a star.  I'd called him in the morning and Mr T wanted to pass on his condolences, but the words didn't quite come out for him.  Anyway Dad called him mate which he hasn't done since Mr T had the stroke.  He was so happy as he's really missed chatting with Dad.  I told him that and he said now he thinks he might be able to talk to him so that's a good step in the right direction.  This evening he sounded better, he said he's doing ok, and we both said there will still be tough days but Mum wouldn't want us to be sad forever.  He's going to pop down soon and stay for the night, and I have told him we will soon have the day bed in the summer house so he's welcome anytime, especially if he wants space but not to be on his own, then he can sit there and draw or read.

Today, mostly quiet and spent with Mr T.  Taking all your advice and looking after myself, taking things slowly, and turned down a couple of requests asking for my time and I didn't feel I could commit to.  I was having a fight with Age UK as they had asked if they could change the day/time of Mr T's slot, so I said we were open to discuss it.  We also had to review if two hours was proving too much (it was).  Anyway the outcome of the discussions was that we couldn't reduce the hour (er, yes we can), then we would be too far out so it wasn't worth it for them (er, that's why the first hour costs more) so they offered two hours every other week.  Hmm, no, I was advised against that at the outset so I gave the notice, and as the discussion has been ongoing it would have meant it ended now.  Funny enough I had an email from Tina this afternoon, a slot had opened up for one hour a week on a Thursday morning.  Magic???  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.