Out-Foxed...

Aha! We found you, little ones....You have just moved to another den! But you can't fool us...we found you.... 

I was so disappointed yesterday when I did not get the chance to see the fox family at play. I watched their playground area on and off all day but they were no-shows. Then my daughter, coming home last night from a golf tournament, came across the fox cubs on the road, and wondered if the mother had perhaps moved them to another one of her dens - perhaps a new one in the woods across the road?...

Seems so..as early this morning as I was packing up the car to leave for home, my SIL came back from taking the garbage to the road and said he had seen 7 of the foxes cavorting on the other side of the road only a few feet away from him!  OMG..what luck!  I unpacked my little pocket camera and headed for the fox family's morning play-time!  What a treat to watch....but not easy to get good photos.... I do think I need to invest in a better camera (as well as a pair of those bird-watching binoculars!) if I am to continue this streak of close encounters with nature!  

With all these fox encounters, it struck me how my Dad would just love to see this...his granddaughter and her family of foxes!  When my daughter was in her teens, she spent a lot of time at the cottage with her grandparents, and Dad had become quite attached to this one fox that kept showing up. He had named him Reddy and had tamed him almost to the point where the fox would eat out of his hand...I remembered that there was a photo of Dad with Reddy that would be fun to include in this blip..but  drat...I was not at home to look for it!  

But..another "Aha !" moment...

When Dad passed away back in 2003, I worked my way through my sadness by creating a memory book of him for my daughter and it was displayed on a shelf in her living room. I wondered if, perchance, I had put that photo in that book..and sure enough..I had! (see extra) 

I just love it when things like that happen! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.