Toadfinger...

The toads returned to the garden pond today...to do what comes naturally. This pairwere spoitlighted by a shaft of sunshine, which made their jewel-like eyes almost glow. I particularly love the females toad's bony finger, steadying her on a piece of sedge leaf. Somewhat reminiscent of ET I think.

I'd originally gone down the garden to look at the marsh marigolds. A few days ago they were only a couple of centimetres high, with tight green buds. Today they were in full flower - how did that happen? As I was looking at them I heard a familiar 'peep peep' and looked down to see a toadball on the lawn next to me - about eight toads in a mating frenzy.

Unfortunately I didn't have the camera, and by the time I'd dashed inside to fetch it, the toads had dispersed into the pond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.