Fen Blow

This morning I dropped Alex in Huntingdon, and then went off to Pingle Wood to make a preliminary survey visit. I'd dithered about whether to go, as high winds were forecast, but it was a sunny morning so I decided to risk it. I must admit I'd forgotten quite how noisy woods are during a gale, and some of the tall ash trees were creaking rather ominously.

I was amazed how quickly the plants are responding to the warmer temperatures. I saw my first flowering bluebell of the year, as well as sheets of lesser celandine and four species of violet. The leaves of the Midland hawthorn have emerged, and I also saw unfolding crab apple and hazel leaves - these were completely absent during surveys of nearby woodland carried out on Monday.

On my way back from surveying Pingle Wood, I experienced one of the worst Fen Blows for some time. I first saw soil being whipped off the fields near Warboys, and then made a detour towards Holme where it was much worse, with a dense wall of peat blowing across Hod Fen Drove. The car sounded as though it was being sand-blasted as I drove through, and when I stopped near the edge of the blow to take a photograph, I was soon covered with penetrating fine dust.

A Fen Blow normally occurs in spring, when high winds follow a period of very dry weather. Winds whip up the peat soil, rather like a sandstorm and a fen blow results. Planting of cereal grain crops alongside traditional fenland crops such as carrots and sugar beet has reduced the effect of soil erosion in recent times - acting as a windbreak to reduce the effect. Sugar beet is particularly susceptible, with the winds bruising and severing young seedlings. In bygone times the blows would cause a real problem for people living nearby - blanketing windows and even encroaching into people's homes. The thick clouds of soil can even clog car air filters. I think some people would have been suffering from those problems today - my car has a layer of fine peat on the dashboard even though I only opened the door for a few seconds, out of the main path of the blow.

You can see more images of this phenomenon here.

Best viewed large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.