Face-to-face

Today I was in search of an Eastern towhee for my blip because the one I snapped yesterday didn't turn out so well. Instead of a towhee, I encountered this critter, which I'm calling a tortoise. I googled it and checked several sites. It seems that the main difference between turtles and tortoises is that the former spend more time in water, but tortoises prefer dry land. This fellow was on dry land (near my bird blipping post), but he appeared to be headed toward the bog about 50 meters away. To give you the full effect of his handsomeness, I got down on the ground in front of him to snap this. Thankfully, a kind walker who was passing by offered me a hand up.

If anyone knows more about turtles/tortoises than I, speak up. My ID may be all wet, which is what the T/T would be once it reached the bog. And of course, it could be a terrapin. Who knows?

Almost forgot to say, you can see a side view of T/T here.

We enjoyed a summery day...nearly 80 degrees. Wahoo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.