Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Admiring Glances

This was drawing attention, parked outside Wilton Lodge and sparkling in the sunshine. The owner was there, happily explaining the history to the passing strollers and dog walkers.

It stopped me in my tracks, not because I'm interested in cars, vintage or veteran or any other sort, really.

It was the numberplate. Back in the 1950s my uncle had a tiny wee boxy car, I think it was an Austin 7 or a Morris 8? Nothing like this splendid specimen, except for the county of registration. Uncle Allan's was KS 6922. Why do I remember that, when I struggle to remember the number of my current vehicle?

I'm miles behind with everything Blip, and everything else ... the garden must have priority as it is growing as I watch, weeds up to the eaves. TM has done something to his ankle and persuading him to rest it is a full-time job in itself.

I got the results of my DNA test the other day, and that has opened up a whole new line of enquiry - I've discovered a half-aunt I didn't know existed, and consequently a half-1st cousin once removed. My existence was as much of a surprise to him as his to me. My grandfather was his great-grandfather. So I'm well down the family history rabbit-hole trying to patch this story together. No doubt there will be more on this topic ...

Thanks for the hearts and stars for the Isabella Plantation shot, I'm very grateful for them all and I hope to catch up on journals soon xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.