Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Brancaster beach

We were up early this morning to drive to Norfolk, but we ended up leaving a little later than we wanted to, although thankfully the traffic was not bad and we had a clear run here in just over 3 hours.

As soon as we unpacked the car we went to Brancaster beach for Xena to have a run around. As we got out the car we met a man who had six Vizslas (!) and his wife and a friend were on their horses, so the six Vizslas and two horses went on the the beach and made quite a sight as they played in the water. Xena loves chasing her ball on the soft sand - see first extra. It was sunny when we arrived, but as it was quite breezy these black clouds came scudding over, they were so dramatic that I took a three image pano of them. Norfolk is known for its big skies, which can be clearly seen here.

We walked along the beach, went to see the seals who laze about in the creek at low tide, and then walked back over the marshlands at the back of the beach where I took the last extra. It was a good walk, and then we went back to the house for lunch. I had made a 'Jennifer Aniston' salad at home which I had brought with me, and Gavin had his favourite, a crab sandwich from the crab hut.

After lunch I edited some photos while Gavin went and pootled about on the sailing dinghy. I also decided to do my online application for my USA visa as at the end of the summer we are going to Alaska.You have to smile at the ridiculous questions they ask, things like if you have ever dealt in drugs etc - who is going to reply yes to that? Anyway I completed it and was very surprised when 30 minutes later an email came back saying my visa was granted, that was so quick. They obviously don't suspect me of being a terrorist or drug dealer!

We are going out to supper tonight, being a Thursday we could finally get a booking at a restaurant that we have tried many times to get into before, but whatever the season the restaurants around here always seem rather booked up. We are also looking forward to Tommy and Inca joining us tomorrow night, it is only a 55 minute direct train from Cambridge to Kings Lynn and then we can collect them from the station. Inca won't have much down time as she is busy studying for exams but it will be nice for them to have a change of scenery. 

Tomorrow morning I plan to leave the house at 4.30am to go photograph the sunrise - I must be crazy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.