Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A colourful day

Today has been all about colour. This morning I attended a workshop by David Rosen through the RPS on taking control of colour. It was fascinating - David has spent decades producing mainly black and white work but has now switched to colour which he says is much more difficult to get right than black and white. Today we discussed all the theory behind colour and tomorrow we are going to start learning how to colour grade and get the best colour out of an image. We won't be using the colour grade tool in Camera raw/Lightroom as he says the result is poor. I liked his description of how images can be representational - at their best a stunning landscape, at their worst a chocolate box image - or can be fine art - at their best original and creative, at their worst tricksy, over processed and ugly!

A friend told me about a yellow rapeseed field on the outskirts of Guildford, so this afternoon as it was such lovely weather I went to check it out. I took Xena with me and we had a wonderful walk on The Mount above Guildford with excellent views over the town to the cathedral. At first I could not find the rapeseed fields but I could smell them so I knew they were near...I took a path and came out to a sea of yellow, what a stunning sight. I took quite a few photos and have quickly processed some to post here. I chose a good day as the weather was clear with blue skies.

I must now crack on with making supper, the day has run away with me.

I got home 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.