Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Dandelions

I was up early, did some gym and then walked Xena in the woods after an early breakfast. It was raining and we did not have a very long walk as I had to be back at my desk by 10am for the second day of the colour control course. 

It was another very interesting day learning how to get the right tones of colour for an image, and how you can change the feel of an image just by slight changes to the colour tones. I can see myself using some of what I have learnt but to do it properly takes absolutely ages - I guess you would only do this for an image you wanted to print in large. Interesting to note how many famous photographers all colour grade their images - not only photographers but in all movies too, which if you are interested can see what I mean here. Today we actually used Steve McCurry's famous image of the young Afghan Girl to use the tones he used in it to get the same rich hues in another image. Apparently many pros outsource the editing and colour work as it just takes so long.

I then had to select three images to upload for tomorrow's session which of course took me ages to decide. By new the weather had brightened and the sun made an appearance, so I took Xena out for another longer walk, and I took some photos on my walk. Here you can see both stages of the dandelion, one when the flower has withered and is about to become a seedhead, and the other standing next to it of a seedhead.

And now it is the end of the day and I need to prepare supper - not enough hours in the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.