Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Esher Common

Today I drove the short distance to Oxshott Heath, as the walk there from the house is on a busy road which Xena hates. Now that we are allowed to drive again and the car parks have been reopened it made sense to rather drive there. We walked from the heath to Esher Common where I took this wide angle shot - I love the way a wide angle lens always makes the sky look so blue. This sandy track is popular with horse riders and Xena also loves it as she thinks she is on a beach and can dig in the soft white sand (see extra) - it's probably the only 'beach' we will see this summer!

When I got home, I decided to make some dog biscuits for Xena as I happened to have some rice flour that was just past it's sell by date that needed using up (I don't give her any grains or gluten as it upsets her stomach), and I also had some butternut and peanut butter. The biscuits turned out well even if the bone shape was a bit uneven on some of the biscuits as the dough was so sticky. The boys were moaning that I don't make biscuits for them but I don't have any normal flour.

I then ordered meat from the butcher, paid for it on the phone and then walked up the road to go collect it. I noticed that our tiny little high street is getting a new greengrocer which I am delighted about, they were busy putting up the new signage and the shop has been refitted while we have been in lockdown. Our local coffee shop also sent a message to say they have had a deep clean and are now ready to open for business again tomorrow for take away orders - which is excellent news as they make the best coffee in the world!

In Switzerland all cafes and restaurants have reopened, and our local favourite cafe in the village where we go had some very tempting photos on Instagram today of the lovely goodies they are serving. I am still hoping that we can go there in the summer. 

I finished watching Twin on BBC iPlayer, and despite the mixed reviews I enjoyed it very much (even if it did not have the ending I wanted). The scenery of Lofoten where it is set made me want to go there even more than I already did 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.