Musings of a Suffolk boy

By tractorboydan

Run Forrest, run...

So today was the first day back in to the running routine. I'd kept some running up in Spain, but didn't do too much - after all, it's meant to be relaxing.
I actually pushed myself harder with the runs in Spain; what with the heat & actually going longer distances, despite doing fewer than I usually would in that same time period back home.
Usually I run in jogging bottoms & a fluorescent yellow running jacket, what with it having been so cold and snowy over the last few months (must be something to do with winter...), but they were being washed seeing as I hadn't had a chance to before the holiday (filthy man), so I had to brave it with shorts. Still, I found a zip-up hooded jacket to wear & keep my top half warm.
I left the house at 0530, as I usually do with these morning runs, and was pleasantly surprised to find that it was quite mild out there, in spite of the rather ferocious wind that was blowing - I remember thinking to myself around half way round; "I must have brought the warmth of the Spanish sun back in my skin."
As I arrived back home I pressed the stop button on my watch and raised my arm to look at the time; 16 minutes & 8 seconds - a new PB by 14 seconds. Not too shabby for someone who'd just spent 8 days lounging poolside with beer on tap!
When I started running again a few months back it first took me a little under 22 minutes to run this route, so I feel I've made some real good progress - now it's just a case of finding a convenient new route of longer distance and the process starts all over again.

Push-ups and sit-ups were on the menu this evening; 75 of the former & 125 of the latter! Gotta regain the fitness that the holiday undoubtedly swallowed up!

1.5 mile speed run tomorrow night - bring it on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.