The old lady cactus!

Today I went to Wisley and was amazed to see so many cacti flowering in the big greenhouse . I don’t think I have been there at this time of year previously to see them. Lots of very very big flowers on Christmas type cacti. 
I liked the little pink flowers on this one which comes from Mexico and has the common name old lady cactus! 

Very nearby was a climber with blue flowers….see extra. I really thought they were false or had been dyed like they sometimes do to orchids. But they are real! Again I had not seen these before. It’s common name is Jade vine and it comes from the Philippines. 

Had coffee in Hilltop, it took a full half hour for them to serve less than 20 people which is so disappointing. I think the coffee machine there must be slow or the operatives not well trained. Maybe they should just have cafetières which would be quick to fill?

The vegetables in the gardens there are amazing, broad beans and mange tout nearly ready to eat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.