All hope abandon ye who enter here

When I was small I was told this was a sign over the Traitor's Gate at the Tower of London. I believed it for years, and people recite it portentously there though it wasn't true. It's from Dante's Inferno.

In any case, this is the tradesman's entrance to Cromarty House, the tunnel through which, in days gone by, went all those not deemed worthy of access by way of the front door.

Anyway, back to Dante, with whom we may contemplate destinations for the current denizens of Downing Street.

Through me you pass into the city of woe:
Through me you pass into eternal pain:
Through me among the people lost for aye.

Justice the founder of my fabric mov'd:
To rear me was the task of power divine,
Supremest wisdom, and primeval love.

Before me things create were none, save things
Eternal, and eternal I endure.
All hope abandon ye who enter here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.