A time for everything

By turnx3

Cassidy Arch

Monday
Jen and Laura really wanted to do this hike to Cassidy Arch, but I was a little hesitant as it was marked as strenuous, and I find Moderate is usually about my level. However Jen showed me on the All trails app, that the steepest climb was at the beginning, but then the climb became more moderate. Another consideration for me however is the surface - I’m not happy on steepish slopes if there’s a lot of loose stuff that I could slip on. But I figured if I could manage the first stretch I could manage the rest. And that proved to be the case. Much of the first section was laid out in steps using flat boulders, so it was quite manageable, just required regular stops for a breather, plus a reasonable head for heights! The middle section I wouldn’t have put past moderate, and then there were a few slightly tricky bits at the end, but as you can see, I made it - there and back, and came back in one piece! Access to the trailhead was along the Grand Wash dirt road, one that must be avoided if storms are threatened, but there was no risk of that today. The views as you climbed, and from the top of the arch were spectacular, and we enjoyed our sandwich at the top, enjoying the sun and the view. After that we just did a couple of short walks to viewpoints, sunset Point and Gooseneck viewpoint - see extra. By this point, it was time to start the drive back to SLC, where Jason soon had dinner ready for us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.