Day off

Breakfast play with Ivy in Stratford and as I’d taken the day off for the wedding anniversary and was meeting V for lunch at Petersham I had a morning to have fun in and so went to the Hayward Gallery to see the Louise Bourgeois on its penultimate day. I have always found her work moving and powerful and although I didn’t have much time I found it very immersive.  The gallery was full of women, mainly in pairs and of all ages.  Somehow I didn’t manage to see the huge piece pictured above which must have been in a separate room that I missed.  Her giant spiders are called ‘Maman’ and there is an enormous one outside the Tate Modern. 

Petersham was its usual joy, there were a couple of people there we knew and it was fun in the sun.  Bought some lovely plants of course. And a hat. 

Back home to plant up some plug plants in golden evening light.  

V cooked a light supper and we watched the first episode of The Essex Serpent which was close to the book so felt a bit forced as a drama. To me…i have been avoiding Life after Life on BBC 2 for the same reason.  Literary novels rarely make great drama, the old aphorism about second best books making the best drama does hold true I think.  Discuss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.