Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The best laid plans...

I decided my blip today would be the fireworks at Darling Harbour.   It was lovely looking across Sydney harbour from the top of the Gladesville bridge and I could see it was sparkling colours again, no doubt in preparation for Vivid.

I had checked my battery before I left home and knew I had at least one spare in my camera bag.  Eventually I got a park and arrived a good 16 minutes before they started.   I took a few "sounding shots" checking exposure and then adjusting for the brightness of fireworks.   I had time to have a chat with the family standing beside me and in no time the fireworks started.

What!!!!!!!!!!!!!!No shutter release......whattttttttt - battery was dead.   So while they were going "off" I was changing batteries.  My spare had 6 shots in it so I wasn't able to adjust the exposure to my satisfaction in the shots but I am posting this anyway.   I did take a video with my phone but I have to say, sometimes it's nice just to stand back and watch things as they happen.

This would be a good entry for silly Saturday wouldn't it.

Home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.