Lone Poppy

It's a beautiful day with a clear blue sky and very light winds.

JJ and I walked over to Stevington this morning, round the windmill, along the old railway line and back across the fields.  Quite a few people were out, along with a running club, and I found four friendly dogs to talk to, along with their owners.  It actually took us twenty minutes to get past local people we know, before we could start the walk.

As we returned we met the neighbour from round the corner, who lost her husband three weeks ago.  She was just heading down to Luton airport to pick up family, and the funeral is next Tuesday, but stopped to say that our next door neighbour, who adjoins her garden, asked if she was planning to stay in the house.  I was absolutely gobsmacked.  How downright rude and tactless.  Wait while I see him.

There was a lone poppy in one of the wheat fields.

I'm just over halfway through The Mirror and the Light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.