Silly again

A week or so ago I gave you the story of digiscoping as Mrs W’s EOS 5D was now a bit too heavy for her with the RA.
 
Yesterday evening I gave the new spotting scope a go with the T mount and my EOS R, trying to get some moon shots.  Apart from being disappointed with the quality (well I suppose comparing a £140 lens with £1200 was asking a bit much) setting up and tracking was a nightmare, mainly because the assembly was totally out of balance making it near impossible to line up the shots.  A sample image is at extras.
 
So this morning I set up a counter balance using a couple of exercise wrist weights.  So much for lightweight - the setup with my Tamron 150-600 G2 is lighter.  I did get a few shots of a hot air balloon a couple of miles away, but very hazy so they have gone in the bin.
 
 
 
So to console  myself this afternoon I played at digiscoping with my telephone, and I’m reasonably happy with the result, albeit ‘through a porthole’. At extra the collage is taken at about 8 mtrs away.
 
The dunnock, also at extra, was taken with the Tamron 150-600 from the same place (but heavily cropped).
 
 
This evening I may try for some comparative moon shots with the Tamron 150-600 (plus the doubler) - MAYBE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.