Lilac in Springtime

Daughter#1 and I sat up until 11pm last night munching popcorn and olives whilst we watched Eurovision. I never usually watch it and was reminded why as 25 countries performed 25 songs , none of which I will ever remember or even excited me as they were being sung, except for that of Moldova which at least was cheery and foot tapping. I don’t know where Moldova came in the rankings because we went to bed, but apparently the UK came second after Ukraine.

After years of ‘nil points’ for the UK, it’s hard not to believe it is all absurdly political.

The Merry Widow I usually see at Söderberg on a Sunday, side stepped it to come the Dower House instead, bringing with her problematic knitting. Between us we figured out the pattern and she went off happy to be replaced by one of my Book Group straight from Church and hidden behind an armful of lilac, resplendent blossoms in mauves and pinks. It is the worthy winner of today’s blip.

Porty daughter popped in on her way home from an overnighter with her friend in Dunfermline and made me poached egg on toast for lunch. Never has anything tasted so good after 3 days of cold salads.

I am thoroughly spoilt and next week I must get a grip and stand on my own two legs… well hopefully!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.