Day in London!

We started by taking 8yo to breakfast with us giving Dad a little extra time in bed! Then he took her out in London!  They are back home as there’s school tomorrow!  

We took ages deciding where to go over a coffee in Costa opposite the hotel! Finally we set off for the British museum. I wanted to see the Lewis Chessmen (above).  They are beautiful!  Made of Walrus tusks, a very hard substance that had to be carved with metal tools. Found on the Isle of Lewis they are thought to date back to 1150 - 1200. The Middle Ages. 

They have been in the museum since 1831.
More about them here.

Another photo shows me taking a photo of two huge teddies in a shop window in Tottenham Court Road! Love the reflections.  Finally Street art: painted on the brick under a railway arch very near to the hotel.  On the right is part of a quick graffiti I also love! 

I gather this is my 3000th blip!  The more I blip the better I love this site and its people: those who run it all: many many thanks, and all my blipper friends!  Life would be the poorer without you all! Xxxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.