Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

A gardening weekend

After visiting the gym and having lunch with Dad, I headed into the garden to try and finish off the wild flower corner. It used to be a rockery before it was overtaken by the wilderness so digging it over to remove all the roots was tricky with all the rocks. I ended up taking most of them out and then putting them back afterwards as the roots were all underneath. For such a small area, it took a lot of digging as before we cut everything back last year, there were a couple of trees that had self seeded, a clematis and an ornamental grass that had spread everywhere which meant lots of old roots. I had to leave the tree roots in as they were too big and deep for me to remove. The weather was stunning but I had to keep stopping as it was so hot.

I didn't quite get it finished but finished it off the following day. It's now seeded so I await some beautiful wild flowers. (Watch this space!)

The grass that was seeded recently is growing well and all of the plants that I've added have taken really well. These are some aliums that I planted last year in the only part of the garden that wasn't destroyed in the cull!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.