A day in the life

By Shelling

Washing

Gorgeous day today, the warmest so far and next week is promised to reach near summer temperature. A great day for drying the laundry, gentle breeze and a warm sun. I found that my lilac-bushes are very near to blooming and I also found that one of the bushes will be great for making a lilac-arbour, all I need to do is to trim the branches slightly and find some furniture to put there. I did some work on it and it's going to be fine.

After lunch I spent a couple of hours shovelling dung from the shed. It's finished now, my landlord can come and fetch it and I can entitle myself "Shelling, sheep-shed shit shifter" or shoveler, whichever sounds most impressive. The beer after the job will be remembered.

Yesterday I chose, made simple arrangements of and recorded eleven of the songs that are going to be used for a program about a Swedish poet, named Gustaf Fröding. He was active in the shift between 1800 and 1900 but his poems are still finding new readers. Many of his poems are set to music and Eva and me was asked to do a program about his poetry and the music. That program is the week after our Beatles program is due so I'm a little stressed about keeping all those different songs up to standard but I'm working on it, by recording the songs, today I was editing them.

The evening has been long, mild and absolutely wind free. The birds still find time to sing a lot, despite being occupied with mating, building nests and hatching. I managed to sit down a while to savour the evening, with the aid of some Riesling wine. I've had worse evenings. Extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.