Dead?

It was nice not to have air con on all night I must say. The weather for our first full day back wasn’t the worst, but oh that dam wind that is not warm. I had to wear my 2nd warmest duvet coat lol!

We had a lazyish morning putting washing on, checking out all the shrubs in the garden which have exploded into life. Mr B ignored me when I shouted for him so will take a few times before he is comfortable coming up to me again I think.

We decided to take mum out for lunch and brown and black in scone which is nice and she loves the fish and chips (small portions which aren’t really small). I had a delicious pulled chicken salad and sweet potato fries and S had the chilli burger. All good

Was amazed when weighed in this morning that after all the food have lost .75 lb! I am now 10.4.75 which is almost 1 stone ! then had a think about it and most days our walking steps were well over 15k, with one day over 25k. S has sort of mentioned that he would have preferred more relaxing time in our time away and I see what he means . It think we should have hired a car again after our time at the apartment in Porto and that was my fault for not planning properly.

It was great to see Mum after two weeks. She was in great form really. When I got the text that she was Covid positive I really felt worried , although it was 4 days in before she tested as she thought she just had a cold. I was concerned that although she felt ok’ish I was concerned that it would turn nasty. Anyway, all worked out and she survived! Not bad for almost 93 but had just had the spring booster so that must have helped. Plus she’s tough, she’s that age where you just get on with it and not wallow in self pity.

Dropped her off at her complex and she had her first trip into the Lounge for the afternoon cuppa with her pals for almost two weeks and they were all so pleased to have her back. S went up to her flat to bring down the 3 plants she was looking after for me. I was shocked to see this shrivelled mess put before me. ‘A wee bit more water will bring it back’ says mum….. ermmm I don’t think so mum. I’ve snipped off the dead bits and hope the roots are still viable and it grows back.

We went down to the gang later to pick up the majority of the plants like the Penny plants and a big green one with a white flower but they scorched the leaves of it putting it in full sun! My god how can folks not take care of plants!! Most were sitting in water (another no no) but they will survive.

Great to see the gang again and catch up with all the goings on. Cameron has broken the back of his Highers two more to go.

Ben has said he wants to go to Rome which we’ve been to a few times visiting Ken so be great to take him there either November or February.

Jeez I’ve got carried away with chat today !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.