Honey Factory

The forecast today was for rain and then thunderstorms, so the focus was on indoor tasks.

But in the afternoon the sun came out, and it was warm. So I took myself off to our local nature reserve. I haven’t been for a while as it has become very popular with dog walkers, runners and mum’s meeting up with buggies and prams (all of which is good), and seemingly quiet from a wildlife angle.

When I arrived there was a double decker bus at the entrance, and lots of children grouped behind it - a school trip. Good to see them visiting, but glad I was arriving as they were going. As it was the reserve was relatively quiet as I walked around and looking freshly green and rather fab. My highlight was a hobby (a falcon which migrates here from Africa, following the hirundines).

And this. Numbers of trees have fallen with the winter storms, and honeybees have found a home in a rotten cavity (above the N and E in this image). I wasn’t going to contribute to today’s mono Monday theme as we have nothing (that I know of) relevant to Winnie-the-Pooh. But this changed my mind

And …. as I took the photo, and then some others, I failed to notice the figure lurking in the background. Totally unobservant, or too bee focussed. I will have to have another look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.