This derelict site

was where I spent my childhood from 8years of age until I left home ... My parents held the tenancy of The Anchor Inn for 30 years. 30 wonderful years of good times, sad times, & wonderful memories. Mum has albums filled with memories that she often takes out to look at. Its stood like this since a fire destroyed part of the building which was made unsafe by damage to the cob walls by the dousing of the fire, and so the complete building had to be razed to the ground. It breaks my heart every time I pass which is at least 3 days a week as Mum still lives in the village. The pub changed hands many times before the mysterious fire. The land has been bought, but now an internal dispute by the purchasers means that it has stood like this for the past 4 years at least. The outbuilding on the left hand side was a 9 pin skittle alley ( wooden skittles, rubber balls, stone alley, with a bar attached. The large double doored garage to the right had a stable to the left hand side where I kept my pony, the garage was used for storage, the loft was used by my older brother who bred rabbits for eating.

Thanks to Marlieske fr hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.