Voluntary Behaviours

We went for a morning walk and an afternoon walk and in the evening, Tango and I had our 3rd "Voluntary Behaviour" lesson. 

We are following a 5 lessons course where we train voluntary behaviours that can help with low stress vet visits and daily animal care. 

In this picture Tango is standing on a platform resting his head on a chair and looking at a box of treats. When he places his head in this position, I click and feed him. 

As long as he is keeping his head in position, he is ok with the handling I do (nail trim, brushing ect). If he moves, I immediately stop whatever I am doing. Once he understands this, he can decide and tell me if he is ok with whatever I am doing or not. It gives him the control, which should make it easier for him to accept unpleasant but necessary handling. 

It will be interesting to see how this works in the long run.

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.