The sad tale of the baby bird.

Just as a wee warning, don't continue reading if you're easily upset by the meaner side of nature.

Roz went out into the garden today to two blackbirds causing a commotion in th etree behind the house. When she looked around she saw Mushroom stalking something. On looking closer she's spotted a baby blackbird on the ground. She quickly grabbed Mushroom and shut her in the house but the wee thing was looking terrified.

It's parents calmed down a bit once the cat was away but the baby was chirping away. It could fly short distances but not very far. I assume it must have tried it's first fly and been unable to get back up to the nest.

I got a couple of shots then decided I'd put it back up in the tree. It didn't mind me picking it up and I gently placed it back in the tree and headed off. When I got to the corner of the back fence I heard another commotion. The poor wee thing had clearly tried flying from the tree again and was back on the ground. This time a dirty great magpie had spotted it and the two parents were trying to fend it off. I ran back over to try and get it, not really sure what to do but by the time I got there the magpie had got the better of it. Poor wee thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.