Avian Influenza

A glorious day of sunshine, but mist hanging over the hills tonight.  It has been fairly breezy all day. 

A morning puttering about the house, and then checked on mam and dad's on my way to work.  Late shift in the airport this week.  I've been working on the check-in desk all day.  Plenty of passengers arriving in Shetland, quieter heading out.  One delay on London/Dundee flight arriving.  Friend Alan Inkster came home today, and popped along for a cuppa this evening.  Walkies with Sammy, then feet up.

When I was down at mam's, I spotted a bird in the field next to the house, it was a Solan (gannet).  It was initially sitting on the grass, but got very distressed as I approached.  Instantly knew it wasn't well, as it flapped around, and being 100ft or so from the sea.  I phoned the SSPCA, and they sent out an officer, but sadly had died before they arrived.  Avian influenza (bird flu) has been reported around the isles here lately, and mostly in the Solan (gannet) and Bonxie (great skua) populations.  Hopefully this passes quickly, our poor birds getting a hammering again! Just typical, I spoke with uncle Leonard, he said Bandit was preying on the Solan, but the Solan soon cleared him and he gave up.  One of our most beautiful and elegant birds, taken at Aith, Cunningsburgh.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.