Syttende Mai

A right windy day, with a sunny morning.  It started to cloud over about lunchtime, then thick mist rolled in, and stayed! 

After my morning chores, I popped by Laura's on my way to work.  Late shift again in the airport, and mostly on the check-in desk.  The last two flights got cancelled due to mist, and what a job getting accommodation for visitors, everywhere is almost full.  Walkies with Sammy, and now feet up by the fire. 

Happy Norway Day to my friends overseas.  I don't know much about Norwegian history, mostly just old Viking sagas.  I often wonder what it would have been like, if Denmark had kept us, and we gained our own independence, something similar to Faroe.  Would I speak our old lost language, Norn?  I wonder how different life could have been.  Shetland still keeps close ties with Norway, they are part of our heritage, and friends forever.  I got the flag flying in the garden this morning.  Taken in Hawthorn Cottage garden, Houl Road, Scalloway.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.