WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Twisting in the wind

It's not often the temperature drops 10 degrees between one day and the next. It was overcast, cold and windy today. I went out with both cameras to do some comparative photos, but it was so perishing that it was positively unpleasant, so I didn't stay out long. I'd managed to figure out how to get the Olympus to shoot raw plus JPEG, and I tried out quite a few of the various preset options.

When I got back I discovered it was just as well I had the JPEGs, because my Mac didn't understand the raw files :( A bit of googling established that in order to process them in iPhoto I'd need to upgrade to iPhoto 11, which apart from costing money is almost universally panned in Amazon reviews. A bit of a nuisance as I use iPhoto for all my cataloguing. The good news is that Photoshop Elements will happily open them, so all is not lost.

The photos I took weren't that great, but I liked the twisted shape of this vine, and a spot of drama in Snapseed improved it. They always look as if they are dancing. It's been a quiet, low-key day, but now we're off to a meeting of the village social club, and then to dinner with friends. Bon weekend, blipmates!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.