WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Addicted

It's official: I'm addicted to blipping. One camera ought to be enough, no? (I don't count the phone or S's point and shoot). But Amazon has gradually worn away my resistance by bombarding me with emails for the last few months. I've been thinking how useful it would be to have a smaller camera to keep in my handbag, for those times when it just isn't appropriate to haul out a huge DSLR. I was tempted by various offerings from Nikon, Fuji and Pentax, but kept baulking at the price. Then Amazon offered me a superseded Olympus Pen Mini, at a rock-bottom price. I read a few reviews online, and it sounded like good value for money. I also found that you can search blip by camera model (click on the model name at the bottom of blips that show camera info). Very handy for getting some impression of its capabilities. For example, bensholto (A Wave on the Ocean) often uses one.

It arrived today. I popped out to buy some bits and pieces for dinner and took a few random photos around Fabrezan to try it out. I haven't read the manual yet, and since it's not a Nikon, the menus and tiny controls take a bit of getting used to. So I just left it on auto, apart from trying out a couple of the "Art" filters. This random red door is SOOC, no filters applied. Now I'm baking sourdough pizzas for dinner (in order to use some of the sourdough starter lake), and I'll be spending much of the evening reading the manual ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.