Tuesday Blip

Went on a reccie this morning. Suejay50 and I had been talking about visiting this pond, to check on the demoiselles. As Sue had other things on today I decided to check it out as I needed to put some steps on for my workweek hustle, but not until after breakfast. So didn't get there until gone 10am, not really expecting to see much. The car park was full and I timed it just right as I was about to return home someone left, so bagged the space. 

I started down the path and hadn't gone 100yds (91.44 m for you modern folk ) when I saw what I think was a blue banded male demoiselle. I turned into the field leading to the pond, and it was lovely to see the buttercups, clover and other meadow plants.

The pond its self is quite small, and popular with dog walkers for their animals to have a dip! Since my last visit some time ago, flag iris have appeared, also marsh marigolds. The water was pretty brown, so maybe dogs had been in there earlier. I quietly walked around the pond, and disturbed a red damsel, and although I waited a few minutes it didn't reappear. So back to the car, and on my return, I kept an eye open and the spotted this, I think a female banded demoiselle. 

This image was quite a distance away, and I only had my 80mm Macro lens, so it has been pulled in somewhat. But good to know they are about, so an early run out one morning should not be wasted :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.