After The Rain

We had a lovely walk in Hamilton wood this morning. After an early start with Maggie we found ourselves in the wood before I was awake! The wetness everywhere and the loud birdsong soon wakened me up to the joys the wood held for us today.
I don’t know what I was thinking about, (nothing obviously) since I only had my walking boots on, when wellies would have been much more sensible. But who cares about wet feet and legs when the sun is shining and there is so much to see.
The bird’s egg was a great find as I thought it looked like a cradle for a chick. There were lots of bees around, particularly on the last of the gorse. I saw no blossom, so probably it is past now. There were two very noisy buzzards, but the dozens of small birds were unperturbed by them. The beech trees beside the burn are in full foliage. They looked beautiful with the sun shining through them.
Home again for a cup of cocoa and a nap on the sofa. Not something I usually do, but it really perked me up.
Spotted a yellow hammer (a little bit of bread and no cheese) underneath the bird feeder so grabbed the camera, but it was through the window, and it wouldn’t turn around, so not the best shot. Extra.
I’ve just made an avocado loaf using a recipe on the Google homepage today. It’s still in the oven, so fingers crossed it turns out fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.